Two Phone Calls That Showed Me God’s Plan.

deskphone

God used my unplanned pregnancy to teach me an important fact:

God will use an unanswered phone call to show you He has plans.

Time to look back 30 years at what feels like yesterday. I will continue what took place after that 4th of July eye opening thought that I shared in an older blog: Wondering if I was (gulp) pregnant. (*1)

No. I can’t be thinking this. Am I? Could I be? This question shouldn’t even be here.

My fearful thoughts were soaking my pillow.  I’m different!  I’m a Christian now.  I can’t be! Can I? No. I’m only 19 and living at home. I have great career plans and…and no, I can’t. God, I pleaded for your forgiveness so…so why would you allow this to be possible? I can’t be pregnant.

Twenty million of those thoughts had me rolling over on my pillow, left and right, left and right. My pillow must have felt like screaming, “Be still Marianne!” 

A few days later, after making sure my parents were gone, I grabbed the Yellow Pages and ran to my room. Back in 1986, phone numbers could only be found in the good old yellow pages. 

I can’t believe I’m doing this. I can’t believe I need one. I guess I’ll look under ‘Pregnancy Test.’ How about this larger typed name—Planned Parenthood. This sure wasn’t planned, but I guess I have to plan something.

That was the first one I noticed. After all, that’s what the bold wording is supposed to do, right? Make you notice. Well, it worked. I was so nervous pressing those numbers.

Ring, ring. Ring, ring. ….Ring, ring. Ring, ring.

images

Hmmm. No answer. Darn it. I’ll try another one. Let’s see. Flipping backwards a bit through the phone book I went, Crisis Pregnancy Center. This sure is a crisis for me if I’m pregnant. I have to try this one.

Ring, ring. Ring, ring.

images

Oh, please. Oh, please be open! PLEASE be op…

“Hello. Crisis Pregnancy Center. How can I help you?”

To be continued. 

*1 – Click hear to read how my unplanned pregnancy story began.

         

Marianne Petersen is a former volunteer at a local pregnancy help organization and is actively involved in her local pro-life community. She is also a member of Northwest Christian Writers Association and author of a forthcoming memoir, God and My Pillow. You can follow Marianne on Twitter at @7winnipoops7 and read more at her blog, www.MariMemiors7.wordpress.com.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

