The Story Behind My Pillow

4 Reasons We Need Pillows
pillow bedding bed sleeping
1- Pillows help keep your head, neck, and spine in a normal position during sleep.
2- Pillows keep you from waking up with neck pain.
3- Pillows allow you to breathe easier and have improved circulation.
4 – Pillows are a necessity to hold all your thoughts.

Number four I hold to the most.
While I was growing up, there was no staring at your phone or laptop before you decided to turn your brain off and fall asleep. And, having a TV in your bedroom wasn’t as common as it is now. There wasn’t as much stuff around that kept you from thinking like we have today. For me, going to bed, when my head hit my pillow meant I was going to think, think, and think some more. And what soaked up all those thoughts? My pillow.

As years went by, my pillow began to know more about me than anyone else. After all, it wasn’t worth telling my parents, siblings, or friends my many thoughts that had built up during each day. My pillow sure knew them all, though. Happy and sad thoughts it held. My pillow knew more than anyone else what toys I wish my mom would let me get when younger, to who I had crushes on as I got older. I know it felt all my joy-filled thoughts when I got my first real job. And I bet my pillow wished it could have told me to zip my thoughts shut after that day I got my driver’s license. And yes, my pillow sure knew how I dreaded getting out of bed for school day after day, year after year.
That pillow was there to soak up those thoughts plus a quarter million more, at least. I’m sure it was a bit relieved when I began putting many of my thoughts into my new best friend: my journal that was kept next to my bed. Here’s an example of what my pillow was spared from.

March 8, 1980 (12 years old)
Today was boring. All I did was clean up around the house. Mom was at work and Dad and David were out of town. It was a pretty day, but totally blah. I didn’t do much of anything that seemed important. A day not to remember. Plus, my skin is extra irritating today. Why me? Why do I have to have eczema on my arms? I mean, out of all the people in my family, why do I have to be the one to have it?

So why am I talking about my pillow? We all have pillows, so what’s the big deal? The reason is to help explain why that word is included in the title of my book: God and My Pillow. At the beginning I thought of just calling it My Pillow.

The day I found out I was pregnant was the day all my thoughts took a drastic turn. That pillow began its toughest job: hearing all my thoughts that were consumed with guilt, embarrassment, worry, shame, regret, and more questions than I’d ever had. b517537b7375822db752c6dd7c03ce4aEvery night, lights off, I was in my own world, free to load all my thoughts and tears onto my pillow. Family and friends knew some of what I was thinking, but still, not nearly as much as my pillow did. As each new day began, it would hear me think,

“I wish this was all just a dream?”

“Perfect name!” I felt, when contemplating a title for this book.

Then, as I got deeper into writing, including more of how God showed His Fatherly hands carrying me from beginning to end, I began to think differently.
Wait! How dare I not include who else knew all my thoughts: God! After all, He knew far more than anyone or anything about what I was dealing with. God and My Pillow. Perfect!

I felt much peace inside when I decided to give my book the name, using both who knew all my thoughts from beginning to end—God and My Pillow.

Psalm 139:2-4  describes it perfectly. —  You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off. You comprehend my path and my lying down,
And are acquainted with all my ways. For there is not a word on my tongue,
But behold, O LORD, You know it altogether.
For more about God and My Pillow, click  here .

Leave a Reply

